Lost in translation


In rainy Saturday, the precious day after long awaiting, I sat to see a movie “Lost in Translation” (2003) by Sofia Coppola. While I am in first half of the movie, the light in my room is lowering, telling me the evening arrives. The mood in my room was made with a small yellow light on my desk and the neon lights of Tokyo on my screen. And the music, lonely but warm feeling is perfectly matched with my current state. I am alone living in foreign country. I had and have been these days after I come here in this unfamiliar place. I also had half-mid-life crisis by asking from myself. What am I supposed to do with my life? What am I doing is better? I become more observer. Until now, however, I do not find someone who understand each other’s loneliness with a single smile, late night talk. The irony of feeling lonely even when surrounding around people more than I’ve ever seen before. Strange. The looks that people give to me when they know I am a foreigner- after some direct blink to each other, the most of the time It turned into innocent laugh. –

The Kyoto scene was reminding me the day I went to nearest forest with a Zoo and coast rider alone. i always think that day was my happiest after I come here. Even I was alone- I saw children with their parents, couples, friend groups, and cute exotic animals. And a beautiful colorful fall nature- mesmerizing.
As she said, let’s not come here again. There would be less fun.

Yes, I think it is true.

However, interestingly, this movie is getting better and better even I come here again and again.

Maybe because I am now in same situation with these characters. To see how they have some problem makes me relaxed and less lonely. Just like this one of the day. Warm and relaxed.


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started